Digital Samplers

Progress with my digital take on traditional samplers is going well. I am planning to display sampler verses and quotes by digitally embroidering them combined with the cut-out typography technique seen in previous posts. I have chosen my final colour palette for the works and have colour matched the various  threads with the horsehair fabric I intend to use. Firstly I wanted to see how all the colours look on all the fabrics so I have created my own embroidered samplers to test colours and fonts

Fabric Colours Swatches and Font and Colour Samplers

Fabric Colours Swatches and Font and Colour Samplers

I am experimenting with creating a distressed look to the typography by playing with and drawing into the designs on the computer prior to stitching. My next challenge is the choose what fonts and colours to use on which fabric.

Computer design and corresponding sampler produced from this design

Computer design and corresponding sampler produced from this design

I surprised myself with how quickly I got my head around the software for the embroidery machine.I struggled with illustrator when attempting to laser cut but this proved much easier to navigate. These being my first attempts, I think I’m doing  okay.

The embroidery machine at work

The embroidery machine at work

It meditative and captivating watching the machine at work….until it starts beeping and grinds to halt usually because of a thread breakage or blockage.  I am learning a lot in a short space of time with this machine but I’m loving the using this process and very happy with the results. The below sampler quote is quite apt for the process. Not much time left now to produce final pieces for the exhibition which opens on the 31st May at the Pink Cabbage Gallery, Stroud. More info here>

Computer design method and stitched design

Computer design method and stitched design

I have loved seeking out appropriate sampler quotes/verse for use in my work. Some are really quite funny….like this sampler letter from 1785. It makes me smile every time I read it.

Testing font for use on this contemporay take on a Sampler from The Montacute House collection

Testing font for use on this contempoary take on a Sampler from The Montacute House collection

“….I shall be very happy when I learn to write, as I think I can form my letters sooner with a pen than with a needle”

Brilliant, I love it. Another which is again very appropriate for the work I am producing during my time on ZTwist,

“all you my friends who now expect to see a piece of work performed by me cast but a smile on this my mean endeavour I’ll strive to mend and be obedient ever”

I think that could even be the title of the entire body of work I have produced for ZTwist.

Leave a Reply

