Pot Production Line

It’s been a productive week this week, hence why my blog post is a bit late; I’ve just been so busy making. Trying to cram in as much as possible before the Easter break.

Working with the knowledge from previous experiments porcelain, I have refined my making method and have been busy churning out pots….pots….pots

pot production line

Pot production line

I’ve also been doing some more slip& dip samples, and I have been experimenting with metal stictches

more slip and dip samples hanging out to dry

More slip and dip samples hanging out to dry

I packed the kiln on Friday last week and I have to say I could not stop thinking about it until I opened it again on Tuesday. I was so worried I would open it to fins a load of burn fragments. To my amazement, I  found these little wonders when I opened it.

above left- packing the kiln, above right- the fired results : )

Above left- packing the kiln, Above right- the fired results : )

I have tried to refine my experimentation with the wire stitches and it worked…hurray!

fired stitched porcelain pots

Fired stitched porcelain pots

They may not be functioning pots as most have cracks but they look interesting. Also it’s quite ironic; I have been trying to echo porcelain staple/rivet mending techniques but mended post end up cracked.

stitched porcelain pots

Stitched porcelain pots

Now I just need to make more as I would like to have a big impactive cluster or rows of them for the exhibition.

I also have been playing around with trying to capture typography in porcelain and again I was very pleased with the results

Examples of trying to capture typography in porcelain

Examples of trying to capture typography in porcelain

Above you can see the pre-fired tags and then also the fired porcelain. I’m so glad I found a way to have a more refined burn mark that is actually readable. My idea would be to take text excerpts from old embroidery  samplers and remake them in porcelain

above left-example of sampler from Somerset heritage centre, above right- my contemporary twist on said sampler in porcelain

Above left-example of sampler from Somerset heritage centre, Above right- my contemporary twist on said sampler in porcelain

Leave a Reply

